h1

It’s an honor to have been nominated

February 8, 2010

The organization to which I belong awards top performers in various categories every quarter with what’s called a Core Values Award.  Since its inception, the awards are historically granted to developers whose code resolved a software bug, or whose 24 x 7 performance implementing a hardware upgrade kept the entire network alive.

You know… super-hero type things.

You can imagine my astonishment to learn I had been nominated for such an award. Because tech writing is a field that struggles for respect (see earlier rants blog entries to this point), I was beyond thrilled to have been nominated, particularly given the outstanding talent in the company I keep.

For my work on the D2D project, I’ve been producing videos, blog entries, and HTML topics instead of the usual PDF guides. The project is in beta and the feedback is trending positive.  I’m excited about this work – I’ve been blogging about it incessantly – and I talk about it constantly.

It was that excitement that earned the nomination. Alas, I did not win the thousand-dollar-bonus prize but it truly was an honor to have been nominated.

2 comments

  1. Congrats Patty, that’s truly awesome. Kudos to you above all, and also to your company for recognising all your hard work, skill and innovative ideas. Even though you’re “just” a tech writer. (I’m allowed to say that, because I’m just one too.) 🙂
    Cheers
    Sarah


    • Thank you, Sarah! It was so unexpected. I had no knowledge of the nomination until I saw my name on the PowerPoint slide. It was quite exciting!



Leave a Reply

